Manchester City crowned the English League Cup at the expense of Tottenham

Manchester City won their first title of the season and their fourth title in the English Football League Cup by beating Tottenham Hotspur on Sunday in the final of the competition with a goal without a response.

The final match of the competition was held at Wembley Stadium in the capital, London, in front of about eight thousand spectators who were allowed to attend.

City defender Emeric Laporte scored the only goal of the match with a perfect header in the 82nd minute of the match.

With this coronation, City equaled the Liverpool record by winning the competition with eight titles, and Tottenham continued to dry up at the title level for the thirteenth consecutive season.

The Spanish coach Pep Guardiola’s team, who is still fighting on two other fronts, is attending the best way to go to the French capital Paris next Wednesday to meet Paris Saint-Germain in the first leg of the Champions League semi-finals. They are also just two wins away from winning their third Premier League title in the last four seasons.

This is Guardiola’s ninth title since his arrival at City in 2017, where he won two league titles, one in the Cup, four in the League Cup, and two in the Shield.

While Tottenham missed again the opportunity to win a championship, as their last title in all competitions goes back to the year 2008, when they crowned the League Cup in particular for the fourth time after 1971, 1973 and 1999.

This was City’s eighth League Cup title in their nine finals, losing only the 1974 final to Wolverhampton.

Leave a Reply