De Bruyne wins the PFA Player of the Year award for the second year in a row

Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne became the third player to win the PFA Player of the Year award for the second consecutive season on Sunday. De Bruyne is now equal with French Thierry Henry and Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo, who won the award in two consecutive years. De Bruyne played a crucial role in Manchester City winning the Premier League title for the third time in four years, and winning the fourth consecutive League Cup. The 29-year-old midfielder also led City to the club’s first final match in the Champions League, but he did not complete the match that his team lost against his compatriot Chelsea 1-0, as he was forced out in the second half after a collision with German Antonio Rudiger, which left two fractures in his face. . De Bruyne scored 10 goals and provided 18 assists in 40 games in all competitions for City this season. De Bruyne outperformed teammates Phil Foden, Ilkay Gundogan and Portugal’s Ruben Diaz, who were named to a six-man shortlist alongside Tottenham Hotspur’s Harry Kane and Manchester United’s Bruno Fernandes. Foden was named the Young Player of the Year by the Professional Players Association.

Leave a Reply