History of the Arabian Gulf Cup

The Arab Gulf Cup is one of the strongest football competitions in the region and the most common, as it attracts millions of followers, whether in the Arab world or in various parts of the world, as this competition is held once every two years, where the first championship was held between 27 March and 3 April of 1970 in the Kingdom of Bahrain And that was after the 1968 Mexican Games, and the first session was held with the participation of only four teams: the State of Qatar, the Kingdom of Bahrain, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, the State of Kuwait.

After that, the Arab Gulf teams continued to join this competition, bringing the number to eight countries. Of the passion and enthusiasm, as for the countries regularly participating is: the State of Qatar, the State of Kuwait, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Oman, Iraq, Bahrain, and Yemen. Qatar is considered the most determined country for the Gulf Cup. The design came in the form of an evaporator that carries a pearl in the above with a crack that heals and wraps around it.

As for the historical record of the Arab Gulf Cup champions, we find that the Kuwait national team leads the standings with ten titles, and in the second row each of the State of Qatar, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and Iraq with three titles, while the United Arab Emirates and Oman have two titles each, while the Kingdom of Bahrain has won a single title, and that is in the last version that was held on the Qatari lands, and Yemen remains the only team that has not yet won the precious cup.

It should be noted that the previous session, which was held in the State of Qatar, received great praise from most of the participants due to the tight organization of those in charge of it in terms of residence conditions and the availability of facilities, as well as the technical level that appeared to most of the participating teams.

By. Ahmadi Abd el ouaheb

Leave a Reply