Perez wins the Formula 1 Azerbaijan Grand Prix

Mexican Sergio Perez won the Azerbaijan Grand Prix on Sunday after a puncture deprived team-mate Max Verstappen of the Formula One world championship. The outcome of the volatile race left the world championship standings unchanged, with Verstappen still four points ahead of Briton Lewis Hamilton after six rounds. The race was halted after Verstappen’s accident five laps from the end and the Dutchman got out of the car unhurt and kicked the left rear tire in anger after the victory slipped from his hand. Second place went to German four-times world champion Sebastian Vettel, as the Aston Martin team achieved its first podium since its return to the championship this season, while French Pierre Gasly won third place with the “Alpha Tauri” team owned by Red Bull. No driver got a point for the fastest lap as Verstappen, who had the fastest time, withdrew from the race. Last year’s race was canceled due to the Corona virus pandemic, and this season’s race was held without fans, except for some residents on their balconies.

Leave a Reply